New Books from NAW Writers 2015

Wednesday, 04 March 2015

Robert Ronsson's second novel is Out of Such Darkness, published this spring by Patrician Press. There are two strands to the narrative - Cameron Mortimer follows fellow-writer Christopher Isherwood to 1930s Berlin, while in the twenty-first century Jay Halprin, an Englishman working in Manhattan, survives 9/11.

When Jay's second-chance life collides with the repercussions of Cameron's travels, the outcome is surprising and shocking. The novel is ingenuously constructed and explores themes of guilt and destiny against a background familiar to fans of the film Cabaret.

Later this year we're looking forward to Her Name is Rose by Christine Breen, published by St Martin's Press in New York in April. This what Booklist has to say: 'Making her debut, Breen has created a warmhearted and pignant story. It focuses on Iris's physical and emotional journey , but supporting narratives from Rose and other bit players help flesh out the enormity of Iris's mission. Fans of Maeve Binchy and Catherine Ryan Hyde will appreciate this witty story of family, acceptance, and the power of belonging.'

And finally, The Daughter's Secret by Eva Holland will be published in the UK by Orion in August. Eva is the winner of the Good Housekeeping novel writing compeititon 2014, and her novel covers eleven days in the life of a mother as she tries to navigate herself and her family through the aftershocks of a scandal. The cover is yet to be revealed, as befits the title.