Deborah Moggach is New NAW President

Wednesday, 09 December 2015

Deborah Moggach is the new Honorary President of The National Academy of Writing.

Francis Bennett, Chairman of the National Academy of Writing, has announced that Deborah Moggach, best-selling novelist and BAFTA nominated screen-writer, will succeed Ion Trewin as Honorary President of the National Academy, a role he performed with distinction after succeeding Melvyn Bragg to the post in 2009.

Deborah Moggach is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, a former Chair of the Society of Authors and has written plays, journalism and short stories as well as her novels and film adaptations. She is therefore ideally placed to help carry the National Academy of Writing forward through its next stage of development.

Richard Beard, novelist and Director of the National Academy of Writing, said: ‘This is fantastic news for NAW. Ion Trewin is a hard act to follow and we’re incredibly lucky to have someone of Deborah’s knowledge and enthusiasm to guide us as NAW continues to evolve.’

Deborah Moggach said: "Writing's a tough and lonelybusiness and new writers need all the support they can get, so I'm thrilled to be involved in the Academy, which does such good work in helping them develop their voice and skills."